The ‘L’ Word

by farrahdomid

Image

“To tell you the truth, I’m pretty lonely. I’ve been surrounded by people my entire life, but there’s a special kind of sadness that accompanies you when you don’t have anyone around to understand the scary things growing in the corner of your mind. It drove me to alcoholism. It drove me to losing my first my husband. Loneliness is the one thing in my life I haven’t been able to shake, and well, it makes me unrecognizable to my own self. At my age, I don’t know who I am. From being lonely, I’ve gotten into business that had nothing to do with me. On the bright side, it makes me look at people differently. It makes me wonder who’s hiding a frown or a confused expression under a glittering mask of gold smiles. It’s wise to see beyond certain things. You know how they say that curiosity killed the cat? Let’s just say I’m constantly wondering why I’m still here. Loneliness is an unwavering force, much stronger than some might think. It comes in the stillness of the night…and it never, ever leaves. Not even in the brightness of the morning light.”

