Just Trying This Out…Bare With Me

by farrahdomid

*Feedback would be greatly appreciated!

 

“Tonight’s going to be perfect, right?” I asked expecting an answer that I wanted to hear.

As I did some last minute touch-ups to my hair, Michael sidled up behind me and wrapped his arms around me.

Mocking me in the voice of a California valley girl, he said, “Yeah, babe. It’ll be, like, so totally perfect.”

I laughed heartily and stepped on his foot for making fun of me. He watched as I fussed over my make-up, even though it was already perfect, and right as I was putting on the white gold hoop earrings he’d gotten me for Christmas last year, we locked eyes through the mirror. Time seemed to have stopped in that moment. The intensity of Michael’s hazel eyes shot a bolt of electricity through my body. He tightened his grip on me and began to kiss the nape of my neck. Knowing that his doing so would ultimately lead to something we had no time for, I tried to put some distance between us, but my efforts went unnoticed. I’ll admit, I probably could’ve tried a little harder. But as goose bumps trailed the back of my arms, my resolve slowly weakened. As much as I could have tried to resist the impulse of his sex drive, the desires of my own intervened. I watched as he smiled coyly from feeling triumphant in winning over my affection. I smiled back, but once the tip of his tongue began to trace the side of my neck then up to my ear, I suddenly found it hard to do anything but control my breathing. At first, he moved very slowly, making sure to hit every spot, but then he became aggressive. Michael intensely sucked on my neck, moving down to my collar bone causing me to emit soft moans that I could no longer hold in.

Michael pushed me closer to the counter, bending me slightly towards the sink. I arched my back and spread my legs a bit wider. He followed my lead by slowly sliding up the hem of my dress up my thighs. Catching his eye through the mirror once more, I smirked as I placed one hand on the counter for leverage and the other behind my back so I could undo his belt buckle. Michael leaned into me and chuckled into the crook of my neck. His warm breath tickled my senses and I felt a shiver go up my spine. He always seemed to know which buttons to push, when to push them, and how to. His gentle hands and soft lips always made it hard for me to deny his advances, especially when my body seems to cave into him every time he touches me. Looking at him in that moment, I couldn’t help but feel how much I loved him. I already knew I did, but as he kissed me tenderly, I could actually feel every part of my love for him and it was amazing. It also made me want him that much more. I quickly maneuvered his belt and let my hands roam freely through my favorite parts of him, but right as I was about to free him, he jolted and took a step back. I searched for his eyes in the mirror and when I found them, I silently questioned his hesitance. Understanding my facial expression, he explained by saying, “Honey, it’s fine. I just didn’t think we were doing it all in one shot.”

Bewildered, I turned to face him. I laughed and shot back, “What does that even mean? Did you want to do a little bit now and then save the rest for later? We’re going to my parents’ house, Mike. You’re gonna need to loosen me up a bit.”

Michael scrunched his forehead and fixed himself after I’d messed his clothes up. “Loosen you up for what? From what I recall, you were pretty sure everything would be perfect tonight.”

I scowled and punched him playfully in his stomach. Defending myself, I said, “It is! It’s just your first time meeting my parents, and you know, it’s nerve-wracking. You’re not even a little bit nervous?”

While I helped him tuck his shirt back in and buckle his pants, Michael pushed me back toward the counter, and with his hands on my waist, he replied, “Well, I don’t have a reason to be. Unless, of course, you’re afraid they won’t like me because I’m b—“

Before he could finish his sentence, I put my hand over his mouth. “Don’t you dare, Michael.”

We’ve always been aware of the differences between us, they’re kind of hard to miss. You’d think people could get past that sort of thing by now, but we get stared at, pointed at, and people even call us names sometimes. It was really hard in the beginning, but one day, we sat down and talked about it. We decided that we wouldn’t allow outsiders to affect something they knew nothing about. We lengthily discussed why we loved each other, and then we physically expressed those sentiments. That was the best part. Most importantly, though, Michael and I have never even truly noticed what’s different about us. We’ve always been too concerned with the things that have brought us together, and the few things that do differentiate us, we embrace. If the world didn’t get that, they had to take that up with themselves. I took a moment to look into his eyes. Cupping his sweet face with my hands, I told him I loved him. Our opinions of each other were the only ones that mattered.

After about another twenty minutes of rearranging my outfit and hair, not to mention the countless groans I was getting from Michael, we were finally out the door and en route to face the determinant factor of the rest of my life. Well, just two. Not all.

