False Pretenses

by farrahdomid

There’s something about you that makes me feel alive.
That’s probably the most
Overused phrase of all eternity,
But it just so happens to be the truth.
I’m not exactly sure what it is,
But your smile makes me feel
Like I might break into a million pieces.
It makes me feel like I want to reach
Across this disgusting barrier
And touch your skin.
I’d like to run my fingers across
Your cheek and feel your lips.
There’s something about you
That makes me feel so put together,
Yet you make me feel so broken.
I love it when you say I make you happy…
Or that you love me.
But to be quite honest,
I think you love a piece of me.
I don’t think you love the whole me.
I don’t think you’re prepared for
The person that you haven’t met.
And that scares me…
Because I want nothing more than
To be next to you.
We don’t have to touch..or speak..
I just want to know it feels like
To be close to you..physically.
I’d like to place your hands on the
Small of back
And then let you take control.
Perhaps that’s my problem..
I’ve given you control of all of this
And I end up waiting by my phone
Hoping that you think of me
While I think of you..
Hoping that you want me
The way I want you.
There’s something about you
That makes me feel free.
You make me feel like I’m smart..
Like there’s something that separates me from the rest,
But is there?
Is there something about me
That you haven’t found in another
Person?
If so, why are we in this hole?
Why can’t I reach out and touch your cheek?
Feel your lips and say you’re beautiful?
Because I do, you know.
I think you’re beautiful
And amazing and so filled with wonder..
I want to know you,
But I think I want to feel you more
Right now.
I can’t help but be taken by you
Captivated by the things you say
And the things you don’t.
There’s something about you
That makes me feel like I’m on fire..
But then again, you’re holding
My heart in your hand
And it’s burning..
And you’re not really doing
Anything to stop it.
I should probably move on.

